CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Stock and Super Stock Tech (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   200 metric issue (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=77723)

jamie2370 10-30-2020 06:19 PM

200 metric issue

Ok, I figured since I am a master GM tech i would try my hand at checking why my metric lost 2nd gear. It had a high gear flare as well which could have been the eshift. Going manual valve body because the other wasn't legal but it was in it when i got it. Now, definitely steel metal in pan verified by a magnet. 3rd(direct) clutches are burnt but everything else looks ok. Also only 4 frictions in forward clutch, 2 in reverse. Band looked ok and billet pin isnt broken

Alan Nyhus 10-30-2020 06:20 PM

Re: 200 metric issue

How's the sprag?

jamie2370 10-30-2020 06:36 PM

Alan, its fine. Spins one way, doesn't the other. I think converter may be trash too. Not really finding anything steel in trans damaged. Drum(not aluminum)has been banged pretty good(the 4 tangs) by a previous sunshell but the current shell looks new.

Mark Yacavone 10-30-2020 09:47 PM

Jamie, What kind of servo? How much band clearance?
I would say, if the direct drum and the band is not burned, and everything else is intact, then the band is not applying.So now you've got to check the circuitry and fluid to the servo. I see the 3rd gear deal as a separate issue. We'll deal with that later.
Who built this unit? You're putting a TA valve body back in it?

*** Is the band anchor pin intact? Not sheared off?

jamie2370 10-31-2020 05:40 PM