|
|
![]() |
#1 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 2,003
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
![]()
Will someone please tell me the rules as per nhra as far as staging goes?
__________________
Art Leong 2095 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murfreesboro TN
Posts: 5,121
Likes: 1,579
Liked 1,855 Times in 420 Posts
|
![]()
Art,
There is a page devoted to it in the 2009 Rule Book, page 41, Section 2 Race Procedures, Staging.
__________________
Alan Roehrich 212A G/S |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 | |
VIP Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 2,003
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
![]() Quote:
This is the way I thought it is supposed to work. When I have accidently turned both bulbs on and was made to back out. Is this the proceedure?
__________________
Art Leong 2095 SS |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 474
Likes: 110
Liked 89 Times in 19 Posts
|
![]()
Yes. If you do it in eliminations you may be dq'd.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murfreesboro TN
Posts: 5,121
Likes: 1,579
Liked 1,855 Times in 420 Posts
|
![]()
Yes, both pre-stage lights must be lit before either competitor can light the stage bulb.
Once both pre-stage bulbs are lit, either competitor can stage first. In time trials they'll make you back out, in eliminations they'll normally turn on the red light if you do not back out almost instantly.
__________________
Alan Roehrich 212A G/S |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 2,003
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
![]()
What happened to me was I lit the first light. Then the guy I was running comes up and turns on both bulbs. I waited for him to back a little. (this is what they have always made me do) When I realized they were not doing anything. I lit the second bulb, tried to bump it a touch, and wound up deep, went to back and the red was on.
The method I've been working on is to get up there first, light the first bulb, then after the other car lites the first bulb. I lite the second and bump in a touch. I didn't realize one car can go up and lite both bulbs regardless of the other car. Or am I missing something.
__________________
Art Leong 2095 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 2,003
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
![]()
Am I confusing "courtesy staging" with the rules?
__________________
Art Leong 2095 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 | |
Member
|
![]() Quote:
You were probably DQ'd because of the deepstage. But while you did try to back up and fix it, that would also DQ you. The rulebook states that your last movement into the stage beams must be a FORWARD motion. I believe this is to prevent people from going across the beams and backing up to the point where they are just barely deep staged. I ASSUME, but do not know for sure, that that rule was implemented during the early years of super class racing.
__________________
2002 Division 6 High School Champion 2007 Division 6 Pro Champion 2007 Division 6 National Open Series Stock/Super Stock Champion |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Coraopolis, Pa.
Posts: 172
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
![]()
I was at the first NHRA event at Norwalk when the issue of courtesy staging came to a head...and it involved the Pros not the sportsman racers.....Erica Enders in Prostock knew she had no chance to actually outrun Greg Anderson so she rushed her burnout and lit both bulbs....before Greg could even get close to actually staging like he always does he was "timed out"...the tree lit, she left and he just sat there wondering what happened....the crap hit the fan arms were flying up in the air and people were yelling like crazy (I was close enough to hear it and it wasn't nice)...
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chewelah wa
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 4 Posts
|
![]()
ART is correct his original question had nothing to do with the pro's and i for one did not it was legal to do what happened to art at indy in the first round. PARDON MY STUPIDITY.
__________________
larry dowty 6388 SS |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|