CLASS RACER FORUM

CLASS RACER FORUM (https://classracer.com/classforum/index.php)
-   Stock and Super Stock (https://classracer.com/classforum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta (https://classracer.com/classforum/showthread.php?t=66166)

Lenny5160 05-09-2017 11:40 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jcadreau1 (Post 534331)
Why would he get DQ'ed? It was an error by someone in the tower and he did not intentionally dial over the index. If that scenario would have occurred then his opponent would then have an argument for a rerun. I'm guessing his opponent was aware of the incorrect dial giving his late reaction time and being well above his dial or maybe just caught off guard with Jim leaving first. What happens if Hildago redlighted and they DQ'ed Jim for staging with a dial above the index even though it was an error by the tower? Then you have the possibility of both drivers being eliminated and a round 4 bye to the next opponent.

An argument could be made that he would be DQ'd by staging on an 'illegal' dial-in. Even though it was a mistake in the tower, it is ultimately the racer's responsibility to ensure the dial-in is correct.

I'm not saying I necessarily agree with that, but I'm guessing that would have been the result had Jim managed to win that round.

If Hidalgo had been red, it wouldn't have mattered and he would have been reinstated following the opponent's DQ.

Mark Yacavone 05-09-2017 11:47 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lenny5160 (Post 534334)
An argument could be made that he would be DQ'd by staging on an 'illegal' dial-in. Even though it was a mistake in the tower, it is ultimately the racer's responsibility to ensure the dial-in is correct.

.

Yes, you could make that argument.
On the other hand, NHRA says , if you stage on it, you own it. (period)
Can't have it both ways.

HR9121 05-09-2017 12:14 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jcadreau1 (Post 534331)
Why would he get DQ'ed? It was an error by someone in the tower and he did not intentionally dial over the index. If that scenario would have occurred then his opponent would then have an argument for a rerun. I'm guessing his opponent was aware of the incorrect dial giving his late reaction time and being well above his dial or maybe just caught off guard with Jim leaving first. What happens if Hildago redlighted and they DQ'ed Jim for staging with a dial above the index even though it was an error by the tower? Then you have the possibility of both drivers being eliminated and a round 4 bye to the next opponent.

Someone else already explained it very well, it doesn't matter that someone entered it incorrectly it is ultimately the racer's responsibility to ensure their dial is correct before they stage.

jcadreau1 05-09-2017 12:29 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HR9121 (Post 534336)
Someone else already explained it very well, it doesn't matter that someone entered it incorrectly it is ultimately the racer's responsibility to ensure their dial is correct before they stage.


Agreed.. Just a lot of what if situations that could have been avoided if the tower and Jim had been paying attention.

Hacksaw 05-09-2017 02:16 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
May the driver be aware. period .

Lenny5160 05-09-2017 03:15 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Yacavone (Post 534335)
Yes, you could make that argument.
On the other hand, NHRA says , if you stage on it, you own it. (period)
Can't have it both ways.

What are the 'both ways' here? Seems consistent to me. If you stage on it, you own it, period.

Maybe the incorrect dial is allowed by the rules and maybe it isn't. In either case, if you stage on it, you own it.

Bob Mulry 05-09-2017 04:08 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
What ever happened to "First or Worst"........

When a car stages with an over the index dial in it is the "first" DQ.....

End of story.....

Adub464Q 05-09-2017 04:09 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
I think this has been brought up before, but could someone explicitly state where in the rules it says you have to dial under your index? I looked for a little bit and couldn't find it, but I very well could be missing something.

Lenny5160 05-09-2017 04:35 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob Mulry (Post 534353)
What ever happened to "First or Worst"........

When a car stages with an over the index dial in it is the "first" DQ.....

End of story.....

'First' only applies if the infractions are of equal severity. If your opponent red-lights but 8 seconds later you hit the wall, you will be DQ'd for having the worse infraction.

I'm not sure where 'dial-in over index' would fall on the hierarchy of infractions; just pointing out that your 'end of story' statement because it is first would not be accurate.

Lenny5160 05-09-2017 04:38 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adub464Q (Post 534354)
I think this has been brought up before, but could someone explicitly state where in the rules it says you have to dial under your index? I looked for a little bit and couldn't find it, but I very well could be missing something.

Austin,

I think the 'Dialing Under The Index' section of Race Procedures, Section 2, Page 5 would cover it:

DIALING UNDER THE INDEX
Contestants in Super Stock and Stock have the option of dialing under
their class’ assigned index. It is the responsibility of each contestant to
place the selected time on the windshield and tower-side window prior
to each round of competition. Dial-unders may be changed between
rounds, including a rerun situation. All contestants not choosing to dial
under will automatically be handicapped on the basis of their assigned
class index.
In cases where two cars of the same class are paired, the
race is conducted on a heads-up basis, regardless of any dialing under
considerations, and breakout rulings do not apply.


So, by the rule, you can dial whatever you like but you SHOULD be automatically capped at the class index. Interesting can of worms with this run, for sure.

Mark Yacavone 05-09-2017 05:57 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lenny5160 (Post 534349)
What are the 'both ways' here? Seems consistent to me. If you stage on it, you own it, period.

Maybe the incorrect dial is allowed by the rules and maybe it isn't. In either case, if you stage on it, you own it.

Both ways comment would apply to those who say someone should be disqualified 4 an over the index dial........One which they did not submit.

Bob Mulry 05-09-2017 06:57 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lenny5160 (Post 534359)
'First' only applies if the infractions are of equal severity. If your opponent red-lights but 8 seconds later you hit the wall, you will be DQ'd for having the worse infraction.

I'm not sure where 'dial-in over index' would fall on the hierarchy of infractions; just pointing out that your 'end of story' statement because it is first would not be accurate.



Wrong.......

The first will always be the first......

Other than crossing the center line or outer boundary (wall)......

The first is a DQ......

Larry Hill 05-10-2017 06:49 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
I hope the SRAC and NHRA will address this and set the procedure and practices so we all know the rules.

Bobby DiDomenico 05-10-2017 09:09 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lenny5160 (Post 534361)
Austin,

I think the 'Dialing Under The Index' section of Race Procedures, Section 2, Page 5 would cover it:

DIALING UNDER THE INDEX
Contestants in Super Stock and Stock have the option of dialing under
their class’ assigned index. It is the responsibility of each contestant to
place the selected time on the windshield and tower-side window prior
to each round of competition. Dial-unders may be changed between
rounds, including a rerun situation. All contestants not choosing to dial
under will automatically be handicapped on the basis of their assigned
class index.
In cases where two cars of the same class are paired, the
race is conducted on a heads-up basis, regardless of any dialing under
considerations, and breakout rulings do not apply.


So, by the rule, you can dial whatever you like but you SHOULD be automatically capped at the class index. Interesting can of worms with this run, for sure.

"All contestants not choosing to dial under will automatically be handicapped on the basis of their assigned class index." This is what lead me to believe the system wouldn't allow a dial over your index to be entered. An "at or below" in the line of code.

t.tosto 05-10-2017 09:57 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Seems to me the rule is clear, must dial at least the respective index or lower. Why is it unreasonable to expect the dial-in to be correctly entered when starting line crew all have headphones to communicate to tower? I'm sure Jim had the dial visible on the car, I guess bottom line is to do your job and everyone else's.

Lenny5160 05-10-2017 10:03 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Yacavone (Post 534364)
Both ways comment would apply to those who say someone should be disqualified 4 an over the index dial........One which they did not submit.

When you staged, you signed off on it. The source of the dial is irrelevant.

The way the rule is written, there should not be a DQ for dialing over the index. Dialing under the index is simply a choice, and if you choose not to you "will" automatically be capped at the index.

Jim Wahl 05-10-2017 10:27 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob Mulry (Post 534370)

Wrong.......

The first will always be the first......

Other than crossing the center line or outer boundary (wall)......

The first is a DQ......

Negative! The rule is FIRST OR WORST! If the second is worse than the first then second is out! If you red light and your opponent is light at the scale or his fuel is bad etc... he is out, you are back in. Period. Jim


.

Jason 05-10-2017 11:10 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
If you are the one entering dial-ins on the computer and your "friend" is racing, just put in a dial-in over the index for the other lane. If it is caught, no harm no foul. But by current rules, if it is accepted, BINGO.....your "friend" wins.

New rule proposal. "If a dial-in is entered wrong by the tower and can be proven after the run, a rerun will be allowed."

GUMP 05-10-2017 11:25 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jason (Post 534412)
New rule proposal. "If a dial-in is entered wrong by the tower and can be proven after the run, a rerun will be allowed."

Why should I have to subject my car to this just because you forgot to read your dial?

G Schenck 05-10-2017 11:30 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
[QUOTE=Jason;534412]If you are the one entering dial-ins on the computer and your "friend" is racing, just put in a dial-in over the index for the other lane. If it is caught, no harm no foul. But by current rules, if it is accepted, BINGO.....your "friend" wins.

New rule proposal. "If a dial-in is entered wrong by the tower and can be proven after the run, a rerun will be allowed."[/QUOT

Old Rule: If your dail in is wrong, don't stage.

BG56 05-10-2017 12:20 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Let's mix this up a little. If there is no dial-in on your car the class index is your dial. So with an incorrect dial above the index, correct one should also be inserted. In other words you cannot dial above your class index, otherwise we ARE just Bracket Racing (Dial your own).

Larry Hill 05-10-2017 12:48 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
What about this: Heads up run with two different indexes on score boards, one correct and one over class index. Would it be the responsibility of the racer in the lane with the correct index to point out that the racer in other lane had the wrong (slower) index and had a distinct advantage? I don't know about other racers but in a heads up I have zero dial on the car, and doing everything to make sure I do everything correctly. I don't ever remember checking the dial in a heads up race. So who wins in a heads up race with this kind of mistake by race personal?

When is a racer staged? In my mind it is when the pre stage and the stage lights on his side of the tree are on. So...... racer A has both bulbs on and race B has one bulb on and then notices incorrect dial in his lane. Racer B backs out to notify official that dial is wrong, while all this communication is trying to take place with the official racer B get timed out and his side of tree goes red do to auto start. Does first or worst apply to racer B, both are wrong and correctable.

and so it goes

BG56 05-10-2017 12:56 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
So I guess I'm guilty of 'assuming' the sanctioning body should be in charge (electronically or human) of "running the show". OK so it's up to the racer to keep it straight and hope they're not, ahem, Ignored!

Chuck Beach 05-10-2017 01:18 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
If Redman (who actually knows sportsman racing) would have been the starter this would have never happened. Yes, it is up to the racer to make sure the dial is correct (all drivers are in "their zone" on the starting line), but does that mean he should be the only one paying attention. Where does our $360.00 go?

Carguy49 05-10-2017 01:28 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
I have an interesting point on this. Shouldn't all this verification of dial in happen before you begin your burnout?? Once you accept the dial it is gospel. True the dial can't be more than the index, that is a given.

Once you light the top bulb I don't believe you can back out unless you are told to do so by the starter. I believe this is in the rule book. I could be wrong, I am only human and make mistakes sometimes.

Mark Yacavone 05-10-2017 01:29 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim Wahl (Post 534406)
Negative! The rule is FIRST OR WORST! If the second is worse than the first then second is out! If you red light and your opponent is light at the scale or his fuel is bad etc... he is out, you are back in. Period. Jim


.

True enough.
Let's throw this out there then.
Car A redlights
Car B unloads an engine , last round of the day. Big clean up, start to finish. No weigh that round.
Car B fixes engine overnight, and comes back next morning, right or wrong?
Isn't that a worse infraction?

Bob Mulry 05-10-2017 01:53 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim Wahl (Post 534406)
Negative! The rule is FIRST OR WORST! If the second is worse than the first then second is out! If you red light and your opponent is light at the scale or his fuel is bad etc... he is out, you are back in. Period. Jim


.



Wrong

If the car was light or bad fuel, the moment the car staged he was a DQ......

The car that went red happened after the tree started down...

First or worst...

Pistol Pete 05-10-2017 03:34 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
With well over 11,000 Views on this subject, i hope somebody in Glendora is reading this & all we could hope for is something like this to NEVER happen again.

In response to Chuck Beach: Where does our $360. GO ???? very good question.

I still like a hand held iPad & you punch in your Car # and Dial before you enter the water box. But i'm sure NHRA would need different software or something to do that.
But it would be worth it for 5 or 10 more dollars per racer IF it was an expensive fix.

Just my .03 cents.

dartman 05-10-2017 04:23 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gump (Post 534414)
why should i have to subject my car to this just because you forgot to read your dial?


x2

Joe Schaechter 05-10-2017 05:12 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry Hill (Post 534424)
What about this: Heads up run with two different indexes on score boards, one correct and one over class index. Would it be the responsibility of the racer in the lane with the correct index to point out that the racer in other lane had the wrong (slower) index and had a distinct advantage? I don't know about other racers but in a heads up I have zero dial on the car, and doing everything to make sure I do everything correctly. I don't ever remember checking the dial in a heads up race. So who wins in a heads up race with this kind of mistake by race personal?

Larry this exact scenario happened to me at the Sportsnationals in Belle Rose a few years ago during the first round of class. My opponent was given a two tenths of a second head start due to an error in the tower using the wrong index for his lane. It was clearly a mistake with the wrong class and index on the time slip. My opponent was gracious in the mix up and we both agreed a re-run was the only fair thing to do. The race director agreed and it was re-run.

Jim Bailey 05-10-2017 06:09 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
At the Atlanta NMCA race, several weeks before the NHRA National Event, the dial in boxes at the starting line weren't working .... My question is, "Were they fixed and working at the National Event ?"

Darrel Goheen 05-10-2017 06:44 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Carguy49 (Post 534428)
I have an interesting point on this. Shouldn't all this verification of dial in happen before you begin your burnout??

Normally, unless you are at the front of your class you are burning out while a race is happening on track. I always verify the dial between burnout and pre-staging.

Carguy49 05-10-2017 07:20 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Good point Darrel. I guess each track is set up different in respect to the burn out box, and how the racers approach it from the staging lanes. I am most familiar with Pacific Raceways in Kent, Wa. since that is closest to me.

Mark Yacavone 05-10-2017 07:35 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Darrel Goheen (Post 534452)
Normally, unless you are at the front of your class you are burning out while a race is happening on track. I always verify the dial between burnout and pre-staging.

There ya go.
Doesn't everyone wait for the clocks to re-set, before proceeding to pre-stage?
I don't even look at dial-in boxes...just the scoreboards,..and the other car's dial in.
I wouldn't stage if either one is wrong. Just about the time you pre-stage, they'll figure it out, and you'll be sitting there watching it all, and waiting.
Of course, I'm just a keyboard jockey , according to a few here.

Bob Bender 05-10-2017 09:08 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
William call me tomorrow

Bryan Phillips 05-10-2017 10:31 PM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
If I remember correctly, it used to be that a driver could pre-stage, check the scoreboard and back out if there was an error with dial. That was changed quite a few years back that once you light the top bulb "you own it". I do my best to stop short of the beams, wait for the burnout smoke to clear (tailwind, right?) and the dials to pop up before I light the top (although I have to be honest there have been occasions when I didn't!). As much as I don't like the fact that if I correctly place my dial-in and someone in the tower makes a mistake with the input that I own it, however I do understand that it is my responsibility to check before pre-staging. What I would like clarity on is what happens if my dial gets entered over the index and I go on to "own it" and the other driver red lights, crosses the centerline, is light at the scales or does not pass fuel check. Who is the winner/wiener??? In my opinion, this is the only thing that needs clearing up. All else is clear, you pre-stage, you own it!

BTW-congrats to Cooter for his win in Atlanta. That's 2 consecutive years of azz kicking in ATL-he nearly doubled there last year. Know that the old man is proud! Deer stew and cold brew!

Toby Lang 05-11-2017 03:12 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
I wonder why this hasn't been fixed yet. All it would take is one simple line of code:

if dialin > index then dialin = index

I guess it would probably cost 3K+ to implement like the worst red light deal.

Get it done Compulink!

Jeff Stout 05-11-2017 09:46 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
I totally agree on having index being noticed on computer as being wrong if it is installed with a slower then class index. But some how the human error on correcting to proper dial in needs to be figured out.
It sounds like there is a warning that goes off in tower when something is wrong but human error is still in play to correct it. Drivers should never put their trust in someone else's hands when it comes to racing. I doubt anyone lets a stranger work on their car, check air pressure, add fuel. So why would you trust a stranger in putting a correct dial on the scoreboard? Answer: You don't, its drivers responsibility

Going forward and all the bells and whistles go off and computer states dial in is slower then index and self corrects it. Its still not correct.
1) So now what will be said when a car is -1.00 under index and tower reverts over dial to class index dial in and driver does not notice and stages car? Answer: Driver is responsible for dial in has now excepted it.

2) Is this going to be ok when dial is still wrong and driver excepts by staging car? Answer: Yes as its responsibility to check dial in before pre staging.

3) Or will the complaining still continue and rerun be demanded? Answer: Yes

Bottom line is driver is responsible for proper dial in before pre staging no matter what's on the board or when computer operator installs wrong dial even if dial in is 99.99 on score boards. Drivers need to take responsibility for your own demise.

Jeff Stout 05-11-2017 09:52 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
Also, Toby stated that a addition to the system (dial in > index = index) would have self corrected Mr. Hills example of 2 cars in the same class and yet operator installs 1 car with slower then index dial in. Then this race would have been corrected and a heads up race would have been run properly.

Randy E 05-11-2017 10:13 AM

Re: Rd #3 Stock @ Atlanta
 
At the NMCA race at Atlanta in April, I was part of the first pair in round 1 of Stock Superstock. They had the correct dial in on the scoreboards, so we did a burnout. Went to prestage and the dial ins changed to index in my lane. They backed us up for several minutes to fix the problem. When it appeared to be fixed, they motioned us back up to stage. We didn't quite get staged and the dial in went back to index. They backed us up again. After what seemed like a long delay we were motioned back up. I did another burnout and pulled up to stage. Scoreboards changed again to index. Backup and wait. Finally they got the problem fixed and we finally got to run. Maybe they have computer problems that need fixing. Randy E


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.