Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Troy Huntzberry, you know you should NOT have gone to the second round at Orlando. Casey Miles won first round. Jim
. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
At every race I've been to, if you stage and your dial is wrong, you own it. I was sick with food poison, I was just in the car because I had to. I wasn't paying much attention to anything other than just trying to make a pass. I know better about the dials, but again I didn't even look since I just wanted to get the race done. Instead of our dials, the indexes were on the board, I didn't look. I went 100 ft out and the car broke the engine. I did notice that my win light was on, so I had the car pushed to the scale. It was correct weight. It's the drivers responsibility on both lanes to look at the dials. You stage, you own it. If you go to the first rd of stock on NHRA.TV, we are the first pair out. I have a time slip which indicates I was the winner, circumstances are messed up, but mistakes are made and it lands on the driver's.
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
If the 302 car did not cross the center line or hit the wall and the opponent broke out and lost, Casey is the one advancing to round two according to the rules as I understand them. The racer that took it on the chin was the person that should have had a broke single due to Casey engine failure. In class racing a racer has to dial the index or quicker for the class the car is teched in as. Its the racer responsibility to check the dial in on being correct. If the dial is incorrect tell the starter and have it changed, if you stage the car you bought the race. I know first hand from a race in Noble, OK
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
This was 100% the DD’s decision.
Once the DD assesses the situation and makes the call, the racers are out of it. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
The DD can not over rule the RULE BOOK! There are too many case histories on this. Both drivers accepted the dials on the board. That's the rule. That's why they are in the rule book, to make decisions by. Case over. The DD has no clue what the book says. Jim
. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
NHRA needs to read and understand the Rule Book under Section 2 Race Procedures as written.
Part quote from Rule Book Section 2. Break Out rules: Contestants who race below the posted index or category standard during eliminations are disqualified, with the following exceptions: 1) when an opponent foul starts or crosses a boundary line 2) on a single run 3) when both cars run under their index, the driver who is least under is the winner 4) when two cars of the same class race (doesn't apply to Super categories) 5) two drivers under by same amount the racer crossing wins It's a Rule Book that we all play by, its not a Suggestion Manual. Rules applied in a fair, firm, and friendly manner make the sport fun for all participants. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Maybe division director ordered a rerun as both index were displayed ?
That would make sense . |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
Casey Miles 248H E/S |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
What in God's name is going on at these races.
D7 and D2 shame! D6 is like a secret society. I don't recall seeing this crap in D1, D3 and D4 or am I wrong? |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
I’m confused, what should Troy do at this point? If The Who’s who of D2 made the decision as it is now, what should be rectified? Just for future reference…thank you!
Tim Stickles |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Simple, the person making the decision should know and understand the rules in the rule book then apply them.
The DD has the power to change the outcome of a race but should they use it. It's spelled out in the race procedures. It wasn't a first or worst ruling. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
I have been burned by a wrong dial in before. After that happened I check my dial in every round before I pull in to the pre stage beam. I have had to get it corrected several times. Once you stage and the race is on you own the dial on the board. Mistakes do happen and you have to do what you need to do by making sure your dial is correct.
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Just to clarify something for everyone and clear up any misconceptions.....per the NHRA rulebook (Section 2, Page 2 under Staging in the 2022 book) a racer has accepted the dial-in when they PRE-STAGE not stage. This has apparently been the rule for years and it bit me at the Charlotte national event a few years ago when I backed out of the pre-staged beam and told them the dial-in was wrong and they wouldn't change it and they fired the tree and red lighted me.
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Thanks Jack that is how I read the rules.
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
The fact that Casey was pushed off the track with track equipment would be a "disqualification" of the run per the Rule Book. Bye runs are the only allowed run where you do not have to cross the finish line under power. You can not get a "time" when being pushed
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
While I get the jist of the conversation, that started on the Monday after the race, I'm confused as to what Huntzberry was supposed to do after the fact??..
If Casey had a win ticket, how does the loser of the previous round appear for the next round, unless an indication was made that Casey was broke.. that would give his next opponent a competition bye.. My confusion comes in with, did Huntzberry get reinstated??.. I'm thinking that Casey had Huntzberry, and Casey got the win slip, sending him to the next round.. OOOOORRR, did I miss something.. All that said, it appears that D2 failed, and let the race continue, SOME HOW!! |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Jamie2370,
I'm always willing to learn new things, but I can't find where it's a disqualification for a racer to be pushed off the track by NHRA. Would you mind sharing where in the rule book you found those rules for disqualification. Thanks in advance. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
To add to what Mr. Zimmerman knows about the dial and prestaging
After the colon the Rule Book states "No reruns will be granted due to incorrect dial-ins after prestaging" |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
I was not there
But as Casey stated both cars were dialed on index If there ever was a good reason for a rerun it’s that situation I agree with you live with the dial I on your car But both are dialing INDEX. You guys are telling me your ok losing when it’s the same for both drivers? Unfortunate for Casey braking his car. Someone told Troy to go back up as the winner. So figure who made the call I believe the division director is the last word I |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
. . |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
No pup in this fight, just need info. What about going up staging, break the beam and getting pushed back for the win, is this still legal? Do you still have to go down weigh and fuel check. Did his opponents time slip say looser? Did his opponent go over the scale before going to his pit, this used to be a automatic DQ. Lots of questions few answers. Maybe Bobby needs to have the Div Director on Tech Tuesday pod cast .As long as the dial in is the index or below should be legal. If the other guy would have looked up at the score board and seen that his win light was not on he should have lifted, that's twice on 1 run. Most of usually get only one chance at screwing up and still winning. Its going to be a long winter.. Tom
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
5049 Michael Chitty 1 Jimmy Lewis E1 0.008 6.706 206.37 ****WINNER**** 0.012 64.999 NS TS Dial: 6.72 (+/-): -0.014 TS Dial: 6.24 (+/-): 58.759 Qualified: #21 6.729 205.60 #5 6.247 226.42 Jimmy went on to win the the event after being pushed off the track by NHRA first round in Dallas |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
1 Attachment(s)
This is the time slip.
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
I'm having a real difficult time understanding why Hutnzberry is being called out. I don't know the man, but, from what I've read here, he pled his case to the division director based on a bizarre set of circumstances and the DD made a call. Who among us wouldn't have done the same?
Is the OP that pissed off about losing to him second round? What's Huntzberry supposed to do? Go to confession? Pay a fine? Grovel for forgiveness? If you're going to blame someone, blame the DD. Even then, it's seems like he didn't make an egregious call. True, it may not have been the right call according to the rule book, but the situation was strange to say the least. I don't see the point of this public shaming. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
If we are not going to go by the rules we have nothing.
Going by the rules takes the human element out of the equation. The DD shows the racer the rule and it’s over. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
The OP must have been paired with him on the ladder or at the very least in the lanes. I didn't see where he went to the DD to tell him that Huntzberry should be out and that he should be given a by. Instead, he starts a thread calling out Huntzberry. That, I don't get. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
A better title for the thread would be:
Why were the RULES not followed? I think both racers were not paying attention to the race at hand. The win was showed to be Miles on the computer supplied time slip. The computer does not care who wins or looses. The computer has parameters programmed into its software to determine a winner within the rules structure. The only people I’m disappointed with are the folks that ventured out on there own disregarding the rule book! |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
What I would like is for Troy to man up and admit the rules were broken (not by him) and he should not have been in the second round. Troy no doubt knows the rule. He knows the rule was not upheld. I would like him to make a statement as to his side of the situation. He accepted the dial when he staged, he broke out on a competition run. Period. He was out. Apparently everyone there knew it but me at the time. Jim . |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
Authority granted by Section 1.4 of the rulebook everyone keeps referencing here... |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Quote:
|
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
How I’d feel about this situation is different depending on how the ruling came about.
Did the DD recognize the error and call for a rerun due to staff error, or did one of the drivers who staged on an incorrect dial run to the tower demanding a rerun? I don’t need to know the answer in this case. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
1.4 FINALITY OF DECISIONS BY EVENT DIRECTOR, DESIGNEES OR OTHER EVENT OFFICIALS
Last sentence in paragraph one is worth reading. “While the decisions, actions or inactions of Event Officials are not appealable, NHRA reserves the right to reverse such decisions or review such actions or inactions on its own initiative if it determines, in its sole and absolute judgment, that such action is warranted.” I still wonder what prompted the decision to override the timing computer and the the race procedures spelled out in the rules. |
Re: Hey Troy Huntzberry, Do The Right Thing!
Larry Hill, that is what I have always been told but lets be honest, how many times does this happen. AFTER the finish line it is ok, there are no infractions after the finish line. You can hit the wall, go off end of track, cross line, etc. I am sure this is at the Director's discretion.
If we look at this from another view, James Perrone is correct in that it should have been a rerun due to BOTH lanes incorrect. In that instance a rerun would declare Troy the winner as Casey was broke and could not make the call. Plain and simple. I personally don't care who is in the other lane. I have to do my job, he or she has to do theirs. I feel the correct call was made. With that, I do not have a dog in the fight nor do I even have a "class" car anymore. Probably never will again. |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Class Racer.com. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.