|
|
![]() |
#1 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
![]()
I realize that all stockers are required to weight and submit a fuel sample after each pass. I understand that both are needed after each qualifing pass. I also understand the requirement during "class" eliminations and after a heads up pairing on the ladder. I do not understand why either are required during regular "shoe polish races" in eliminations. When the A car races the D car, why weight and fuel check the winner???
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murfreesboro TN
Posts: 5,126
Likes: 1,583
Liked 1,893 Times in 423 Posts
|
![]()
Because it makes procedure consistent, so that there is no valid excuse for not crossing the scales.
Also, the rule says you must dial your index or lower. It is also possible that a hurt car might get run light, allowing it to run the number when it otherwise might not.
__________________
Alan Roehrich 212A G/S |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murfreesboro TN
Posts: 5,126
Likes: 1,583
Liked 1,893 Times in 423 Posts
|
![]()
True, they check fuel after first round of qualifying, and not often after. They sometimes check fuel IF you pick up.
__________________
Alan Roehrich 212A G/S |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Duncannon, PA
Posts: 825
Likes: 136
Liked 535 Times in 86 Posts
|
![]()
You know.....I used to ask the same question. But then one year I raced someone, who wasn't running his index, in the 3rd round and lo and behold he picked up about a tenth and ran dead on when the weather was getting worse! I questioned the officials why they didn't weigh him???? They actually weren't weighing anybody after the first round, which I found quite odd. I'm sure my competitor knew this and quite possibly took advantage!!! I will never know, but I kind of felt cheated.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Liked 27 Times in 14 Posts
|
![]()
How about being involved in a double breakout race where you are the loser. You wait to see them pass scale and fuel check to know they are legal and your opponent, who won the race, bypasses the scale and loads his car in the trailer. That is grounds for disqualification. So is being light at the scales and not passing fuel check.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 | |
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 873
Likes: 1
Liked 502 Times in 130 Posts
|
![]()
They should have been weighing after every round. Its always a good idea to stop at the scales even if you lose, you never know if your competitor might be underweight, and hand you the round on a platter, and of course, weight is good data for your logbook.
How did they handle the heads up runs? There is a obvious advantage to knowing you will not get weighed and running under. Maybe their scale broke. Quote:
__________________
Eric Merryfield 1883 STK |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|