|
|
![]() |
#1 |
Member
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 351
Likes: 499
Liked 295 Times in 111 Posts
|
![]()
So I guess I'm guilty of 'assuming' the sanctioning body should be in charge (electronically or human) of "running the show". OK so it's up to the racer to keep it straight and hope they're not, ahem, Ignored!
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Senior Member
|
![]()
If Redman (who actually knows sportsman racing) would have been the starter this would have never happened. Yes, it is up to the racer to make sure the dial is correct (all drivers are in "their zone" on the starting line), but does that mean he should be the only one paying attention. Where does our $360.00 go?
__________________
Chuck Beach 3340 STK Last edited by Chuck Beach; 05-10-2017 at 01:24 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fife, Washington
Posts: 1,990
Likes: 2,526
Liked 2,981 Times in 718 Posts
|
![]()
I have an interesting point on this. Shouldn't all this verification of dial in happen before you begin your burnout?? Once you accept the dial it is gospel. True the dial can't be more than the index, that is a given.
Once you light the top bulb I don't believe you can back out unless you are told to do so by the starter. I believe this is in the rule book. I could be wrong, I am only human and make mistakes sometimes.
__________________
Ron McDowell - Did Race Every day is a Gift - Enjoy with family and friends. Last edited by Carguy49; 05-10-2017 at 01:30 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 380
Likes: 226
Liked 70 Times in 31 Posts
|
![]()
Normally, unless you are at the front of your class you are burning out while a race is happening on track. I always verify the dial between burnout and pre-staging.
__________________
Darrel Goheen 785-623-7021 Stock Eliminator 585 94 Camaro Z/28 LT1/ET 585 67 Chevelle 427 Tehnician for JustAnswer.com |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fife, Washington
Posts: 1,990
Likes: 2,526
Liked 2,981 Times in 718 Posts
|
![]()
Good point Darrel. I guess each track is set up different in respect to the burn out box, and how the racers approach it from the staging lanes. I am most familiar with Pacific Raceways in Kent, Wa. since that is closest to me.
__________________
Ron McDowell - Did Race Every day is a Gift - Enjoy with family and friends. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 | |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Miles From Nowhere
Posts: 7,825
Likes: 2,919
Liked 5,135 Times in 1,958 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
Doesn't everyone wait for the clocks to re-set, before proceeding to pre-stage? I don't even look at dial-in boxes...just the scoreboards,..and the other car's dial in. I wouldn't stage if either one is wrong. Just about the time you pre-stage, they'll figure it out, and you'll be sitting there watching it all, and waiting. Of course, I'm just a keyboard jockey , according to a few here.
__________________
"We are lucky we don't get as much Government as we pay for." Will Rogers |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,737
Likes: 1,601
Liked 460 Times in 91 Posts
|
![]()
William call me tomorrow
__________________
Bob Bender 144 O/SA 2010-2012 National Record Holder |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 145
Likes: 3
Liked 46 Times in 20 Posts
|
![]()
If I remember correctly, it used to be that a driver could pre-stage, check the scoreboard and back out if there was an error with dial. That was changed quite a few years back that once you light the top bulb "you own it". I do my best to stop short of the beams, wait for the burnout smoke to clear (tailwind, right?) and the dials to pop up before I light the top (although I have to be honest there have been occasions when I didn't!). As much as I don't like the fact that if I correctly place my dial-in and someone in the tower makes a mistake with the input that I own it, however I do understand that it is my responsibility to check before pre-staging. What I would like clarity on is what happens if my dial gets entered over the index and I go on to "own it" and the other driver red lights, crosses the centerline, is light at the scales or does not pass fuel check. Who is the winner/wiener??? In my opinion, this is the only thing that needs clearing up. All else is clear, you pre-stage, you own it!
BTW-congrats to Cooter for his win in Atlanta. That's 2 consecutive years of azz kicking in ATL-he nearly doubled there last year. Know that the old man is proud! Deer stew and cold brew! |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|