HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > Class Racer Builds
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 11-14-2014, 07:43 AM   #1
slowpony

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile Newbie needs help!

I just decided to get off the fence! I have been a fan of S/SS since the days of Sox & Martin. I live in an area of NC that has 5 tracks less than 3 hours tow. I am a retired Firefighter with all the normal bills, but I want to go racing. I am looking at Pure Stock due to cost. My problem is that I have two cars to choose from, a 1994 Mustang GT Convertible, and 1996 Z/28, both are automatics. The GT has mods that would make it a Cobra except the front bumper. It is a natural G/PS and has run under the 1/8 index at Piedmont already. The Z/28 is newly acquired and is very stock. Will the GT need a roll bar and the Z is a T-top, will it need one? Don't plan to be the fastest or #1 qualifier, just want to run the local S/SS combo's and qualify for a Divisional. Suggestions and opinions on these are welcomed!
Thanks,
Norman
slowpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 09:08 AM   #2
Dragsinger
VIP Member

Liked 99 Times in 60 Posts
Default Re: Newbie needs help!

Slow,

About the 96 Camaro;
*engine access is a tough job, will cause you to possibly say bad words. Engine is WAY under the cowl area
*T - tops not desirable
*rear axle assembly weak but maybe acceptable with stock engine. No rear axle upgrades from GM available.

Just food for thought, things to consider

The Mustang;

*engine access good, "normal" position in compartment
*Rear axle assembly with 8.8 is very good, will take plenty of power with no problem.

And these comments are from a dye in the wool Chevy racer. Given these two choices the Mustang will be easier to work on, thus, less frustration, more fun.