HOME FORUM RULES CONTACT

Go Back   CLASS RACER FORUM > Class Racer Forums > .90 Heads Up Class Racing Tech
Register Photo Gallery FAQ Community Calendar

Old 06-20-2010, 04:13 PM   #1
68camaroSS

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default air line leakage

can anyone offer suggestions on the best way to stop air line leakage on a Biondo pro start system. What is best to use on the fittings, tape or liquid sealant. They come with tape on them, and I tried liquid and did not have good results. Any tricks. I am new to this, and am using the small bottle, but it only last 2-3 races. I have checked the fittings for leakage and tightened. Is there any leak proof fittings out there. Seems like with all the technology today and the cost of these units, there should be a better solution than what comes with these units? Anyone else have this problem. thanks,

Last edited by 68camaroSS; 06-20-2010 at 08:41 PM.
68camaroSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 08:14 PM   #2
Chris Williams

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: air line leakage

I use liquid sealant on the threaded connections. Used to use tape, a friend told me he prefers the liquid. Seems easier to know you're doing it right. Don't need a lot.

The push connectors on the flex line can be bad, and they are cheap (Jegs or Summit has them) so replace them if they are the least bit suspect.

Buy a bottle of leak detector at the hardware store (in the heating aisle or near the gas line fittings), it's cheap and is way more "frothy" than any home-made solution I've ever made. Go over the whole thing, I guarantee there's a small leak somewhere.

I went the extra mile and put on one of the Dedenbear inline solenoids that only turns the CO2 on when the ignition is on. Not cheap, but haven't had a "dammit the bottle's dead" run (like we had at a national event last year) since.

HTH,
Chris
Old 06-21-2010, 07:59 PM   #3
voltdr

Liked 90 Times in 49 Posts