|
![]() |
#21 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 785
Likes: 45
Liked 316 Times in 67 Posts
|
![]()
That takes an official at the line, ain't happening. Tower call? Oil, dust, which car, and then the fight began
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#22 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 881
Likes: 206
Liked 309 Times in 173 Posts
|
![]()
There is almost always an official at or past the finish line. They are watching for drivers :- taking down window nets, loosening belts, removing helmets and such before you reach the end of the track, you know safety issues. The trouble is it comes down to a Human making a judgement call. If a had a whisper or small puff of smoke come off one of my front tires and they came to my pit and said your Dnq'd for excessive braking, well it would not be a good ending and probably I would appear to be a bad sport. Sorry to say.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#23 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 898
Likes: 604
Liked 431 Times in 224 Posts
|
![]()
Which page is this rule on?
__________________
S/ST 51 S/C 53 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#24 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 881
Likes: 206
Liked 309 Times in 173 Posts
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#25 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pierce NE
Posts: 936
Likes: 78
Liked 354 Times in 120 Posts
|
![]()
It's in the west coast rule book, Tom
__________________
Tom Meyer 5240 SS Stock ??? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#26 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 898
Likes: 604
Liked 431 Times in 224 Posts
|
![]()
Section 2, page 8 says:
Anytime it has been judged that excessive braking has resulted in loss of control that results in contact with the guardwall and/or light fixtures or crossing the center boundary lines, INCLUDING PAST THE FINISH LINE, the contestant will be disqualified. Nothing about tire smoke being an automatic DQ, or even about excessive braking alone being grounds for a DQ.
__________________
S/ST 51 S/C 53 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#27 |
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Englewood, Florida
Posts: 989
Likes: 35
Liked 317 Times in 103 Posts
|
![]()
Section 2, page 8 says:
Anytime it has been judged that excessive braking has resulted in loss of control that results in contact with the guardwall and/or light fixtures or crossing the center boundary lines, INCLUDING PAST THE FINISH LINE, the contestant will be disqualified. What a joke. If you make contact with the guardrail, light fixtures or cross the center line you get DQ'd anyway. Doesn't matter what the cause was. They just added past the finish line. They used to have a rule but that is gone now, many brake slammers just were told to take it easier and I do not recall any one getting DQ'd for it. Of course this has nothing to do with safety. Ron Ortiz U/SA just a late decision
__________________
Ron Ortiz 2102 STK |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#28 |
VIP Member
|
![]()
I don't think so. The only racers I`ve had come by me with the front tires locked up and smoking like a freight train were from California. At least three different occasions and never even a warning.
__________________
Lane Weber It`s Not What You Drive That Wins....It`s How You Drive It |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#29 | |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NOO JOISEY nexta NOO YAWK
Posts: 5,879
Likes: 38
Liked 100 Times in 45 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
__________________
Former NHRA #1945 Former IHRA #1945 T/SA |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#30 | |
VIP Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bardstown, KY
Posts: 1,937
Likes: 131
Liked 369 Times in 127 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
I am only trapping 106 mph, but if I were to get rear ended by one of the 160 + mph missiles...
__________________
Alan Mackin Stock 3777/ SS 3377 P/SA & SS/PA Fox Thunderbird I/PS '95 Mustang GT Last edited by ALMACK; 02-14-2017 at 09:57 PM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|