|
|
![]() |
#1 |
Live Reporter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,467
Likes: 146
Liked 3,363 Times in 731 Posts
|
![]()
I'm pretty sure if he had wheeled it and won the round he would've been DQ'ed even though he had the correct dial on his car he accepted the incorrect dial by staging. Best case scenario he might would've got a rerun but I would imagine just a DQ.
__________________
James Williamson W200 J/SA. SS/JA |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 | |
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
![]() Quote:
Why would he get DQ'ed? It was an error by someone in the tower and he did not intentionally dial over the index. If that scenario would have occurred then his opponent would then have an argument for a rerun. I'm guessing his opponent was aware of the incorrect dial giving his late reaction time and being well above his dial or maybe just caught off guard with Jim leaving first. What happens if Hildago redlighted and they DQ'ed Jim for staging with a dial above the index even though it was an error by the tower? Then you have the possibility of both drivers being eliminated and a round 4 bye to the next opponent. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 | |
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 898
Likes: 604
Liked 431 Times in 224 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
I'm not saying I necessarily agree with that, but I'm guessing that would have been the result had Jim managed to win that round. If Hidalgo had been red, it wouldn't have mattered and he would have been reinstated following the opponent's DQ.
__________________
S/ST 51 S/C 53 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 | |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Miles From Nowhere
Posts: 7,817
Likes: 2,907
Liked 5,123 Times in 1,953 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
On the other hand, NHRA says , if you stage on it, you own it. (period) Can't have it both ways.
__________________
"We are lucky we don't get as much Government as we pay for." Will Rogers |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 | |
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 898
Likes: 604
Liked 431 Times in 224 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
Maybe the incorrect dial is allowed by the rules and maybe it isn't. In either case, if you stage on it, you own it.
__________________
S/ST 51 S/C 53 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
VIP Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coarsegold, CA
Posts: 1,016
Likes: 57
Liked 320 Times in 102 Posts
|
![]()
What ever happened to "First or Worst"........
When a car stages with an over the index dial in it is the "first" DQ..... End of story.....
__________________
Bob Mulry 7516 STK A & M Motorsports |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | |
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 898
Likes: 604
Liked 431 Times in 224 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
I'm not sure where 'dial-in over index' would fall on the hierarchy of infractions; just pointing out that your 'end of story' statement because it is first would not be accurate.
__________________
S/ST 51 S/C 53 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 231
Likes: 35
Liked 478 Times in 91 Posts
|
![]()
I think this has been brought up before, but could someone explicitly state where in the rules it says you have to dial under your index? I looked for a little bit and couldn't find it, but I very well could be missing something.
__________________
Austin Williams 3 SG 464Q STK SC |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 | |
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN
Posts: 898
Likes: 604
Liked 431 Times in 224 Posts
|
![]() Quote:
I think the 'Dialing Under The Index' section of Race Procedures, Section 2, Page 5 would cover it: DIALING UNDER THE INDEX Contestants in Super Stock and Stock have the option of dialing under their class’ assigned index. It is the responsibility of each contestant to place the selected time on the windshield and tower-side window prior to each round of competition. Dial-unders may be changed between rounds, including a rerun situation. All contestants not choosing to dial under will automatically be handicapped on the basis of their assigned class index. In cases where two cars of the same class are paired, the race is conducted on a heads-up basis, regardless of any dialing under considerations, and breakout rulings do not apply. So, by the rule, you can dial whatever you like but you SHOULD be automatically capped at the class index. Interesting can of worms with this run, for sure.
__________________
S/ST 51 S/C 53 Last edited by Lenny5160; 05-09-2017 at 04:45 PM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Miles From Nowhere
Posts: 7,817
Likes: 2,907
Liked 5,123 Times in 1,953 Posts
|
![]()
Both ways comment would apply to those who say someone should be disqualified 4 an over the index dial........One which they did not submit.
__________________
"We are lucky we don't get as much Government as we pay for." Will Rogers Last edited by Mark Yacavone; 05-09-2017 at 05:59 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|